Monday, November 3, 2014

Pooja wins Scholarship for young artists in Theatre from Department of Culture.

POOJA MOHANRAJ (4) Pooja Mohanraj of Lokadharmi Theatre Kochi, INDIA is selected for the award of Senior Scholarship in for the year 2013-14 under the scheme of Award of Scholarship to Young Artistes in drama/Theatre. The scholarship is for an advanced training in physical theatre under Chandradasan, director of Lokadharmi for the next two years.
Pooja was getting their training in theatre from Mazhavillu, the children’s theatre wing of Lokadharmi when she was 11 years old and later continued in Lokadharmi.  She was part of the productions Panjarasala (by BV Karanth, dir. Chandradasan), Alibabayum 40 Kallanmarum (by Chandrasekhar Kambar, dir Chandradasan), girl in the photograph (written and directed by Shirly Somasundaran ) and Tom and Jerry (by Arun Pr Pr, dir Sudheerbabu Sankunni ) for Mazhavillu
She has decided to continue with theatre and is pursuing MTA in Schoolofdrama Thrissur after completing B.A. Economics Honours from Lady Shri Ram College for Women. She was actively involved in Delhi college theatre circle, on-stage and off-stage. Have performed street plays in various public spaces in Delhi and also directed for Goethe Institute/ max Mueller Bhavan collegiate theatre festival organised as an Indo German collaborative project.
Her major production include Egle and Cleopatra (a one actor performance based on Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra and a Lithuanian myth written designed and directed by Chandradasan for Lokadharmi Theatre Kochi, INDIA, Andorra (by Max Fritz directed by Kumara Varma ), reflections (by Mahesh Elkunchwar) accidental death of an anarchist (by Dario Foe), butter and mashed bananas (Ajay Krishnan, Neel Choudhury), burn (based on Ibsen’s works directed by Neel Choudhury for Ibsen festival), Ubu Roi (by Alfred Jarry, directed by Chandradasan for Lokadharmi etc. She did Workshops: David Zinder (Israel), Prof. S. Ramanujam, Kumara Varma, Kalamandalam Prabhakaran , TM Abraham, Ramesh Varma, Gopan Chidambaram, Venuji, Anne Dubos (France), Neel Choudhury, Anirudh Nair etc.
She had in many festivals including NIPA international children’s theatre festival (attended twice), Ibsen theatre festival, old world theatre festival, Soorya festival, Sam festival (NSD), Rangaprabadh festival etc. egle and cleopatra premiere  (181)
She was hospitality coordinator for itfok2014.
With this Scholarship Pooja is are joining the band of Lokadharmi actors, Premdas AT, Sudheer Babu, Zumesh Chittooran , Joseph Tito, Pradeep Sukumar , Soumya CP, Priyaraj Govindraj G, Vinay Forrt, Nandini R Nair, Harikrishnan Sanu , Sukanya Shaji ,and Shaiju T H Sh who had won this scholarship earlier.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home